21 days of Self-Healing with the Chakras

Updated: Feb 14, 2021

Learn how to empower yourself on this journey of self healing through simple practices that you can utilise now and in the future.

If you have been exposed to the world of yoga, you have probably heard the term Chakras, and have maybe been left wondering what they are and how they are relevant to your yoga practice and journey.

Why did you start yoga? For most people, myself included, the answer would be somewhere along the lines of I started yoga as a form of physical exercise. However, once you spend time in a few classes with a few different teachers you start to notice that yoga is so much more than just a physical practice, it is also allows you to focus on the mind and soul. There are 3 main elements in every yoga class, physical movement, control of awareness or the mind and breath control, also known as Pranayama. Prana is the Sanskrit word for life force or vital energy, the movement of this vital energy throughout the body has a big affect on your outward energy, emotional state and vitality in this physical world.

The Chakras utilize Prana in the body to allow energy to flow more freely or move stagnant energy in the body…are you still with me? Ok so… if you are more of a visual person then you could see a Chakra as a spinning energy wheel in the body, the faster the wheel spins the more active this Chakra is and the slower the wheel spins the less active it is. These energy wheels are located along the spine and they cannot be physically seen, but rather “felt” or experienced in the body when you work on them. You could look at working on the Chakras as a way to do some self-healing, without having to rely on anyone except your own intuition and pre-existing knowledge of yourself.

So lets come back to Prana for a moment, how is this Prana distributed around the body? Through Nadis, Nadis are energy channels that run through the entire body and it is widely accepted that there are about 72 000 Nadis in the body, but for today we will only focus on the main 3, Ida, Pingala and Sushumna.

I’ve broken these down for you below:

Sushumna flows from the base of the spine, through the central axis along the spine up to the crown of your head. Only Sushumna rises all the way to the crown. This is the route of rising Kundalini (spiritual energy located at the base of the spine) and is the pathway that Prana is said to flow.

Ida is located to the left of the spine and starts from the Root Chakra, crisscrossing through each Chakra up to the 3rd Eye Chakra. Ida is linked to your cool Moon energy, your calmer, feminine side and Pranayama practices (breath control) focusing on this side regulate your Parasympathetic Nervous System that deals with rest and digest.

Pingala is located to the right of the spine and starts from the Root Chakra, crisscrossing through each Chakra to the 3rd Eye Chakra. Pingala is linked to your hot Sun energy, your strong, masculine energy and Pranayama practices focusing on this side regulate your Sympathetic Nervous System, that deals with fight or flight.

There are 7 Chakras, starting from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. I have listed them below, along with there functions, and how they show up in the body when balanced and off balance:

1. Root Chakra (Muladhara) Colour: Red Function: Survival in the body and security. Basic needs. Location: Base of the spine Element: Earth How does the energy of this Chakra show up? When the Root is balanced you feel confident, stable and secure, full of energy and vitality. When the Root is off balance you feel low on energy, easily angered, overly fearful and materialistic.

2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana) Colour: Orange Function: Sexuality, creativity and connections to your emotions. Location: Below the navel Element: Water How does the energy of this Chakra show up? When the Sacral is balanced you feel graceful, creative, in harmony with yourself and you have healthy relationships. When the Sacral is off balance you feel guilty, over sensitive and possessive.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

Colour: Yellow Function: Linked to your personal power and energy distribution Location: Above the navel Element: Fire How does the energy of this Chakra show up? When the Solar Plexus is balanced you feel comfortable with yourself and others. When the Solar Plexus is off balance you feel depression, confusion and low self-confidence.

4. Heart Chakra (Anahata) Colour: Green with a pink center Function: Linked to your ability to love yourself and others and be at peace. Location: center of the chest Element: Air How does the energy of this Chakra show up? When the Heart is balanced you feel joy, gratitude and compassion. When the Heart is off balance you feel lack of self love, fear of rejection and jealousy.

5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Colour: Blue Function: Linked to your ability to communicate and express yourself. Your inner dialogue. Location: base of neck and throat Element: Eather (space) How does the energy of this Chakra show up? When the Throat is balanced you feel the ability to express your truth, communicate outwardly and inwardly with compassion. When the Throat is off balance you feel difficulty expressing yourself.

6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

Colour: Indigo Function: Intuition, your inner knowing. Location: Center of the forehead Element: Light How does the energy of this Chakra show up? When the Third Eye is balanced you feel focused and you can easily determine between truth and illusion. When the Third Eye is off balance you feel unworthy, distrustful and experience lack of awareness.

7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

Colour: Purple/white Function: Knowingness and higher spiritual information. Location: Crown of the head Element: Cosmic energy How does the energy of this Chakra show up? When the Crown is balanced you feel focused at peace with the world and

yourself. You emanate love, wisdom and compassion. Materialism and ego no longer take hold.

The challenge is to stabilize Prana in the central pathway in order to find a state of balance within you. Join our community throughout the month of November for the 21 day Chakra Challenge, where I will be sharing mini Yoga and Meditation practices for each Chakra through Elumi Yoga's Youtube Channel.

Do you have an aspect of yourself that you would like to learn more about?

Is there a part of you that you feel needs healing?

Do you want to empower yourself to work on your own healing?

Join us for a Self Healing Chakra workshop, in the comfort of your own home on 28 November from 18:00 - 19:30(GMT).

Allow yourself to be open to the idea of healing parts of yourself by heightening self awareness and allowing yourself to be vulnerable.

No previous experience needed.

What will you need for the event:

  • a quiet, comfortable space

  • yoga mat

  • blanket and pillows

  • journal and pen (optional)and we will end the month with a 1 and a half hour Chakra workshop to tie all of the information together and dive a bit deeper into your healing journey.

Purchase your ticket here.

Thank you for taking the time to read this blog and I look forward to going on this journey with you.

Love and Light



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All